Few precious hours

I’d like to think of Sunday as a relaxing day- a day spent sleeping in, making breakfast, lounging around (preferably outside, but not in this weather), getting a little house work done, making a nice dinner (grilling! almost that time…), etc. That’s how it was when I was growing up. Now, Sunday’s are spent in my classroom, prepping for the week ahead. I’m not too fond of this routine I’ve gotten myself in- it usually means time away from those few precious hours I get with Zach, but if I don’t do it, I go in to my week on screech, unprepared, and anxious.

He’s always so supportive of it, and he usually will stay behind and clean the apartment for me- he’ll do the dishes, sweep the floor, take out the trash…anything he notices that will take the weight off my shoulders (this morning he finally moved the bikes out of the kitchen and in to the living room and I finally felt like I could breathe again- we have a pretty tiny apartment). He knows the way to my heart.

Today though, he’s decided to come to school with me. He says he’ll help with anything he can, but if I don’t need it he’ll find a cozy spot like my kindergartners do and read. On the outside I smiled and gave him a hug and a kiss, but on the inside I teared  up a bit. It’s things like that that remind me of how much he misses us (me) when he’s away. “I want to be near you” he says. Those words mean so much.

So here we are, at school. I’m over here at my desk putting conferences together, writing plans for the week ahead, and about to go spend some quality time with the copy machine (dear God please let this thing work today), and he’s tucked away in the corner of my classroom library quietly reading.

“I know you need to do this to feel calm and relaxed. I’ll be right here if you need me.”

A swept floor, clean dishes, and wiped counter surface will never compare to the happiness that I feel right now knowing that I’m sitting here “wasting” our time and yet he’s fully supporting everything I’m doing and doing whatever he can to be near.

9 thoughts on “Few precious hours

  1. sgeijer says:

    Such a sweet piece! I love how supportive he is of you, and how he is so willing to come and find a comfy spot to read in your room just to be together. Sounds like you have a keeper on your hands! I hope your work gets finished quickly and you can spend a few hours together, relaxing and enjoying one another’s company.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. paulabourque says:

    He’s a keepah! Teaching is not a job. It is a lifestyle. Finding someone who can appreciate that, share that, and celebrate that is key to a teacher’s relationships. I hope today was more wonderful just because it was together. Here’s to a great week at school.

    Like

  3. Lisa C says:

    That’s so nice of him! I used to get a day out of my husband every summer. He’d come help me rearrange furniture, not just because it’s a 2 person job but because he’s good at it. I got some of my best advice from him (he doesn’t teach!) We were moving my stuff into a new school and walked past very busy classroom with lots of stuff on the walls, colourful furniture and curtains, etc. He said, “I’d never be able to concentrate on my work in that room!” Now I often take a look around my room and wonder what things I have that are nearly distractions.

    Like

  4. mcoop1st says:

    He loves being in your life Jenna! Every time I see him walking with you he had a great BIG smile on his face. One day you two will settle down in one home and be able to focus on the two of you!

    Like

  5. vendija723 says:

    So sweet! And I remember the years where I worked late and came in Sundays. It does get easier, although teaching always requires a lot.

    Like

Leave a comment