Til death do us part

“What will you miss when you die?”

This is a writing prompt I saw, and knew I had to take 5 minutes to think about. While my overall piece took longer than 5 minutes to write, the gist of it was clear: I will miss a lot of what is right now, but I will miss a lot of what could be as well.

Which got me reflecting a lot about where I am in this mess of my 20’s.

88197032_2702333283220703_4527951842830712832_n.jpg

I took this Snapchat yesterday morning.

I was late to school.

I forgot my breakfast.

And my classroom keys.

And I knew I had a long day ahead of me (not getting home until 8ish).

I made this joke, that, if I were to die from this busy day (I know, I’m dramatic), I would at least have died wearing a favorite pair of earrings. It was shortly after this that I saw the writing prompt about “what will you miss when you die?” and I got to thinking-

what would I miss?

I would miss RelloHis snuggles and his floof. His kisses on my cheek as I pick him up when I walk through the door, his snuggles every morning and night.

I would miss my nightly FaceTime conversations with my best friend who lives 2 hours away.

I would miss visiting my parents almost every weekend- and thinking about that makes me wish I would visit them more often.

I would miss running with my dad on “7 mile Sunday”.

I would miss my mom’s cookies that she sneaks in my laundry every now and then.

I would miss my brother’s short but sweet weekly texts and him making sure I’m investing in the best stocks.

I would miss my coworkers- I am truly blessed to work with some of the greatest, sweetest, and funniest people I know- and not only to work with them, but to called them friends.

I would miss my students.

I would miss hiking on Saturdays with my friend.

I would miss my self-care routines on Sundays.

I would miss making pizza, going to Fielder’s Choice, and driving with my sunroof open.

But writing all this down, thinking about what I would miss, got me feeling sad- but not for the reason you may think.

Of course I’d be sad to miss all of those things.

But I felt this gut-wrenching sadness thinking about the things I don’t even have yet- the things I can’t miss, because they aren’t mine.

I don’t have a boyfriend or husband. My days are filled with so many things and people, but I don’t have that “special someone”- I don’t have a “forever after”, a “partner”.

I would miss that opportunity. I would miss the chance that I haven’t had- the chance to spend my life with someone. The chance to buy a house, get married, and start a family. I would miss the moments I haven’t yet shared. I would miss the inside jokes I don’t yet have. I would miss the joys and excitement and challenge of creating a life with someone that I haven’t yet met.

I don’t have children. I would miss that opportunity. I would miss the happiness, fear, pain, struggles, joy, and love of creating and raising a human of my own. I would miss the smile I haven’t seen, the face I can’t even yet picture, the name I don’t know.

So, to answer the question “what will you miss when you die”, I guess I’ll say this:

I’ll miss everything my life is now- my cozy 1 bedroom apartment with Rello. My family and friends. My students and school. My passions.

But I’ll also miss the opportunities for creating a future. I’ll miss the chances I wouldn’t be able to take. The people I wouldn’t be able to meet. The dates I couldn’t go on. The memories I couldn’t make. The life I hope to have, the one I’m waiting to start.

But if my time were to come before the future, I only ask for 2 things:

  1. leave a space next to me for my cat
  2. bury me in cute earrings

11 thoughts on “Til death do us part

  1. stephaniemeier94 says:

    Girl, I feel you. Same stage of life. Those earrings ARE cute, though! ♥ This was heartfelt and beautifully written and thoughtful. Way to go- your wednesday is off to a great start!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia J Holloway says:

    Really interesting and thoughtful. I read the other SOL yesterday (teary eyed) and thought how hard it would be for me to write. Your life sounds wonderful. Keep living toward the future as you savor and enjoy the present. I wish all the best to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sgeijer says:

    Same, girl. Same. So many wonderful things already happening, but its the “what hasn’t happened yet” that hits the hardest. Such a beautiful piece (and some kick butt earrings!)!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Darin Johnston says:

    I so want to say “your earrings rock girl”, but I think it might be a little silly, so I won’t.😂

    While it’s quite a list of things you’d miss, it’s also that’s quite a bucket list too!

    Good luck with meeting your goals! You will have SO MUCH FUN!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. edifiedlistener says:

    Yes. Missing the parts we don’t yet know but ultimately wish for. I agree, those are tough. Missing the opportunities for creating a future – that’s beautifully put. As someone much older, I can also say some of us live right past those opportunities and regret it. With your reflective superpowers I doubt that can come to pass.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Morgan says:

    I love how this captures the journey of your thoughts, from a rough morning in the past to the things that bring you joy in the now and on through to a future you have yet to know. This one has me thinking now… thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. astarowicz says:

    You put me on a bit of an emotional roller coaster for you. Great picture and earrings! You have so many good things in your life. You’ll find what you’re looking for in the future. It took me until I was 30 to find my wife and I always tell her that I waited for the best (although while I waited – impatiently – it didn’t feel so great). Enjoy the “now”! Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. paulabourque says:

    Love this, Jenna. Thoughtful, heartfelt, and always a little kick-ass humor! It’s exciting to have so many wonderful life events ahead of you, and sometimes a little scary. I have no doubt all of those joys await you and in the meantime, keep sporting those cute earrings!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. clarejlandrigan says:

    Love this – I laughed, I cried, I slowed down, I reflected, I appreciated, I missed my kids and hugged my dog. So much in this slice and so much in your life. I loved the ending and yes the earrings are cute!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment