I SAW THEM!

I SAW MY KIDS TODAY.

I cried.

I laughed.

We talked and giggled and waved.

Some were curled on the couch with their pets.

Some were sitting at the kitchen table with a paper and pencil- eager and ready and thinking they were going to learn something new today.

Some were outside in the fresh air with the blue sky and clouds filling the screen around them.

Some were loud and funny,

Some were quiet, shy, and well, scared.

We went over the highs and lows of the past 2 weeks,

We shared what our days look like now,

They asked questions, while my broken heart tried so hard to calm and soothe their anxious minds.

“Will we pass third grade?”

“Who’s going to teach us what we’re missing? You or our fourth grade teacher next year?”

“Will we go to school in the summer?”

“What about the MEAs?” (testing….TESTING….THEY WERE WORRIED ABOUT TESTING)

“Can I do more math?”

….These kids wanted to go to school.

They missed school, learning, and their friends….and ME.

Their cute giggles and scrunched noses, mixed with toothless smiles and anxious waves pieced my heart halfway back together.

It will not be whole until I am able to hug each of them.

6 thoughts on “I SAW THEM!

  1. rdicarne says:

    I miss my kids too. I teach 7th grade and I haven’t gone live yet – not sure they will be as excited to see me as your kids were to see you. Middle school is tricky, but I am going to have a Meet next week. Wish me luck.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. astarowicz says:

    Thank you for bringing on the tears. This is adorable. You captured every single emotion. I absolutely love when my students ask me, “Will we pass sixth grade?” Honestly, I think they want me to say yes so they can come back next year. There is no doubt in my mind that your students want to come back and spend another year with you.

    “Some were sitting at the kitchen table with a paper and pencil- eager and ready and thinking they were going to learn something new today.” – Don’t you just love when you have those eager students that are ALWAYS ready to learn? This was a great way to finish the week for you. Thank you for sharing all of it.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Darin Johnston says:

    We saw our sixth graders on Wednesday. It was chorus of laughing and teasing and some rude behavior. It was awesome to see them all the same. While we don’t do hugs here much, I miss the stories, good and bad. I miss the random comments. I just miss them. πŸ™‚

    I’m happy for you! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment