Sunday Breakfast

There are 4 types of Sunday breakfast when you’re 20-something:

Family breakfast– When your mom or dad or aunt or someone in your family makes you breakfast. You get to relax in the morning like you did when you were 5 or 10 or 16 and your parents do all the work- the cooking, the cleaning, and they do it all to make sure you are satisfied and happy. It’s calming and reminds you of the memories from when you were young. You feel grateful that you are still close enough to them that this is something that can happen.

Couples breakfast– When you and your significant other leisurely wake up, and decide that you want pancakes and eggs and bacon or whatever it is that you want to eat, and you two get up, put on your favorite music station, and dance around the kitchen making breakfast together.

Friend breakfast– Whether it’s a girls brunch or a boys outing, you kiss your significant other goodbye for the morning and head out for a little time with your friends. Maybe you’re hungover from festivities the night before, maybe you just decided you were well overdue for some time together, maybe it’s a once-a-month Sunday ritual- whatever the occasion, you revert back to your 13 year old self the morning after a sleepover when you wake up with your friends and get to continue whatever gossip from the night before- only you may not have had a sleepover and the gossip to catch up on may be trivial every day things and not what you’re going to wear to the school dance that Friday.

Self-love breakfast- The kind of Sunday morning where you wake up on your own, make yourself your drink of choice, turn on your favorite Netflix series that you’ve seen a bunch of times (you’re just looking for some background noise), open up your Facebook or Instagram and sink into a seat, diving deep into the superficial lives of your friends and acquaintances. You know it’s not productive, nor does it do too much good, but it’s the fact of life that this is something you reach to do.

This morning I got to do a friends breakfast.

I am so lucky I work in a school that has not only brought me great professional opportunities and staff to work with, but it’s also brought me some amazing friends. Friends who I see outside of school, friends who coach after school activities with me, friends who are crazy enough to sign up to run a half marathon with me, friends who bring me donuts during long weeks, friends who know I have all the chocolate they need, friends who I can call mid day with the push of 4 buttons only to say “my GOD are your kids as crazy as mine? Good luck!” friends who stop by your classroom just to say hey, friends who buy the same clothes so we can dress up the same and freak out the kids- friends who I know will be around from now until the end. And even though I see them every day during the week, it was so nice to see them on a Sunday morning, outside of school, planning our girls night before the day of our big half marathon coming up in May.

 

9 thoughts on “Sunday Breakfast

  1. Ameliasb says:

    I love your descriptions of the variety of breakfasts. I am 61 so my favorite breakfasts are when my kids are around – doesn’t matter where or when or what we eat. But when that isn’t happening, the best morning meal is when I can enjoy it slowly, with good coffee and reading or conversation.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stacey Shubitz says:

    I took my kids out this morning for a family breakfast. As I was sitting there — content with being a 40-year-old mom of two — I was wistfully thinking about my 20’s when I lived in NYC and enjoyed many breakfasts with friends. Life changes as you age. In many ways it is better, but there’s still a piece of us thatlongs for something else.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Darin Johnston says:

    Yesterday, it was a family breakfast as we visited our daughter in college, and took her and her boyfriend out. Today, it was a couples breakfast as I made my wife breakfast (as is routine around here.

    Being a 40something dad of a college student and high school senior, we are moving into the parent side of your first breakfast, being that safe place for our daughters. I love Stacey’s line above: “In many ways it is better, but there’s still a piece of us that longs for something else.”

    As I sat and watched my daughter yesterday, it seemed not so long ago, and my wife and I were on the other side of the table with her parents. It goes quickly so enjoy all your breakfasts! 🙂

    Besides, this is by far my favorite meal of the day, so what’s NOT to enjoy?!?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mcoop1st says:

    I love that your breakfast times were really about the people! You have so many wonderful people surrounding you that love being with you! It is your love for life! We all love you for your happy, energetic, outgoing personality!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment