Adaptable

A few weeks ago a mentor, friend, and fellow blogger asked me to come up with an acrostic poem to share with other teachers and educators. I thought today I’d share what I wrote. Her “prompt” was this- “Think of a word or phrase that relates to your teaching or beliefs about kids and create an acrostic poem from it” My response was this:

Adaptable

A child is never

Definite;

A child is ever changing.

Perhaps we should create an environment

That accepts that each day for them is like

A new life to explore.

Be flexible enough to know that

Learning will happen when we allow

Each child to learn in their own way.

                                  -Jenna Sementelli

7 thoughts on “Adaptable

  1. edifiedlistener says:

    What an excellent reflective & creative exercise! I really like the way this poem flows. It feels more natural than I would anticipate from an acrostic form. You’ve opened my eyes to the possibilities of this format. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment