Winter is the death of me

Today is the first day of Spring, though it does not really seem like it at the moment. It is stupid cold. There is snow up to my knees. I can’t wear my cute little sneakers without feeling ridiculous. My classroom is freezing. I still have to wear a hat and mittens.

I know, I know- I live in Maine. I’ve lived in Maine for 26 years, I should be used to this by now.

But I still hate it.

I want to see the ground. I want the green grass to start showing, the trees to start budding, the flowers to start blooming. I want to see the Earth come to life- ants, spiders, bees, butterflies, ladybugs. I want the sun to shine a warm glow upon me and through my classroom windows. I want the birds to sing me awake in the morning and to sleep during my weekend afternoon nap. I want to run outside in a t-shirt.

I want to open my sunroof and roll down my windows. I want to blast my happy music while driving my newly washed and cleaned car. I want to spring clean my apartment- move everything out and scrub ceiling to floor, rearrange everything.

I want to bring myself to life again.

3 thoughts on “Winter is the death of me

  1. mrsday75 says:

    Well, I could have written this. Our snow is gone for the moment here in NE Iowa, but it is cold and gray and yucky. There are whispers of snow and/or freezing rain for Saturday and I am NOT looking forward to it. Think warm thoughts!

    Like

  2. kathyschuitema says:

    Brrr…I’m with you! And your description of Spring Things made me wish even more that those days were here! I’m also in Iowa, and it’s not snowy…but it’s not springy. Hang in there! It will arrive eventually.

    Like

Leave a comment